top of page

Making that hard choice easier...

Well, last week I posted about willpower and how making choices affected it, it got me thinking about the bigger choices in life, and how hard it can be to make those big choices. Sometimes these choices can be so daunting that you put them off till the last moment, and usually in that last moment pressure, you could make a bad choice...

Some would say that is a good place to make choices, at least it will be made and followed through, I get that, Sometimes the best way to make a hard choice is to flip a coin, see the result then asses how you feel about the result. There is another way though, if you want to put more thought into it.

When I have a big choice needing to be made, I start writing a letter or email to someone whom I admire, who I think would have no trouble with a similar choice. I start by saying hi, and that I appreciate what I have learned from him or her, then I proceed with the choice, and then I start breaking down the pro's and con's for each side, followed by a short description of my ideal outcome.

As you might have realized, this message is not meant for sending. I re-read the message, and more than likely in the message I have written what choice I would prefer, or spelled out in the pro's and con's which would be better for me. Writing about the outcome can also be very powerful, it will have elements in it which help point towards one of the paths more than the other.

Sometimes we can be blind to the things in our minds because can easily think in circles. By writing it out we can see on black and white what we need to choose. Writing as though you are telling someone about it also helps a great deal, by trying to explain to someone your own choice, it can become clear as to what choice or aspect of choice you prefer talking about.

At the end of the day making any choice is what really counts, any experience will teach you about yourself, and better prepare you when a similar choice comes around.

This has helped me along, Let me know what you think.


bottom of page