top of page

Mindsets... What can a different frame of mind do?


So this blog may be a bit different, but its good to shake things up every once in a while. Throughout my life I have been rather opinionated, and it served its purpose sometimes, and made me look like a stubborn jackass at other times. The one thing I have noticed now recollecting on my stubborn ways, is that I have had many small epiphanies in my life that might have been too small to notice. Usually after reading a book or watching a documentary, my mind is broadened, and I take on a new more healthy mindset.

Sadly, because these epiphanies were smaller and less noticeable, I would carry on as though nothing has happened, still being a bit better because of the experience but not being able to appreciate how it has helped, and more importantly how it can help further. A mindset is described as "a set of beliefs or way of thinking that determines one's behavior, outlook and mental attitude." So if you could find a way to take control over your behavior, outlook and attitude, would you take it?

That was just in conversation with others, a powerful mindset can happen when you challenge yourself and your own beliefs... A big one I recently read about was changing your mindset from stress to courage. If you find yourself reacting stressful in a situation, you will find your breathing and heart-rate increases, your hands may sweat, and your mind starts buzzing... Strangely enough, if you respond courageously in a situation, you will find your breathing and heart-rate increases, your hands may sweat, and your mind starts buzzing...

I was fortunate enough to experience the ways my body handles a situation by reacting and responding in a similar situation. I played the drums in a band and early on, during the first shows we played, I would feel all those symptoms before the show, and muck it up royally by reacting stress-fully! Over the years though I gained confidence, and started responding to those symptoms courageously, and my performance really showed... I would not miss a beat (or not care when I did) and would want to stay on stage all night!

Its strange how similar your body handles both mindsets, yet one you react by loosing control and not owning the situation and outcome, where as the other you respond by taking control and determining yourself what the outcome will be. Just by changing your mindset about what you are feeling when your body handles a situation, can determine how the situation pans out.

We all have the ability to change our mindsets, those who think about what they think about usually find it easier to do so.

I hope his has been as interesting a topic for you as it has been for me, let me know what you think in the comments.

bottom of page